Browse By


By: Norfolk State University

Norfolk State University President Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston has been named an ex-oficio member of the NCAA Board of Governors.

“Dr. Adams-Gaston’s decades of experience in higher education will make her a tremendous asset to the Board of Governors,” MEAC Commissioner Sonja Stills said, “and we appreciate her representing the MEAC – and HBCUs more broadly – on that body. HBCUs need that strong voice in the room, that presence at the table, so we can advocate for ourselves when decisions are being made, and Dr. Adams-Gaston provides that for us.”

“It is my distinct honor to be selected to serve on the NCAA Board of Governors,” Adams-Gaston said. “In my ex-oficio role, I look forward to working with my fellow colleagues to advance and promote intercollegiate athletics. This assignment is even more meaningful, as I have been asked to represent the HBCU members of the NCAA.We are among the strongest and most successful institutions for excellence and achievement of African-American college students and all who want the HBCU experience.I will be a voice, advocate and conscience in the room, impacting the decision-making for all student-athletes and collegiate athletics.”

Adams-Gaston has served as president at Norfolk State since June 2019, and she has more than 30 years of higher education experience. Prior to her appointment at Norfolk State, Adams-Gaston served as senior vice president at Ohio State University, and her tenure there also saw her serve as the university’s first African-American Vice President of Student Life.

She also serves on the NCAA Div. I Committee on Academics, having done so since Sept. 1, 2021, as well as the Div. I Transformation Committee.

The new Board of Directors will assume its duties on Aug. 1.

The new board includes nine voting members: four from Division I (at least one school president and one conference commissioner), one from the Division II Presidents Council, one from the Division III Presidents Council, two independent members and one graduated student-athlete. Non-voting ex officio members are selected by virtue of their position and include the NCAA president, the chairs of the Division I Council and Divisions II and III Management Councils, the president of one historically Black college or university and one former NCAA student-athlete from each of the two divisions not represented by the voting student-athlete.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Sign up for full access to The HBCU Advocate and to receive our Weekly Newsletter.