Adams Introduces Resolution Honoring the 132nd Anniversary of 1890s Land Grant Universities

By: Sam Spencer 

WASHINGTON, DC (August 30, 2022) – Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) introduced a resolution “expressing the sense of Congress that August 30, 2022, be observed as the 132nd anniversary of the 1890 Institutions.” The 1890s are 19 Historically Black land-grant Universities that were established by the Second Morrill Act of 1890.

A copy of the resolution is available here.

“1890s Land Grant Universities, like all Historically Black Colleges and Universities, have opened doors of opportunity for millions of students over the past 132 years,” said Congresswoman Adams, founder and Co-Chair of the Congressional Bipartisan HBCU Caucus. “Especially as many of our institutions have faced threats this year, it’s important to remember these institutions are more than universities: they’re the cornerstones of communities both urban and rural. This success has come even though 1890s haven’t benefitted from the same resources as other land-grant universities.”

“However, our advocacy for the 1890 Institutions as well as HBCUs in general is making a difference. As the vice chair of the House Agriculture Committee, I work to make sure we continue to include 1890 researchers and students in the important work of the Committee. The recently passed Inflation Reduction Act includes language that helps 1890s partner with socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers. Furthermore, the United States Department of Agriculture announced its Next Gen Initiative to create new pathways for 1890 students to become leaders in the USDA,” Adams continued.

“As a proud 1890s graduate, I am honored to introduce this resolution celebrating the 132nd anniversary of our dear universities, and celebrate their great work: past, present, and future,” Adams concluded.

The resolution is cosponsored by Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus Vice Chairs Terri A. Sewell (AL-07) and Michael Turner (OH-10), as well as Representatives  Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Al Lawson (FL-05 ), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Mark Pocan (WI-02), David Scott (GA-13), and David Trone (MD-06). The resolution is also endorsed by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) and the 1890s Universities Foundation.

Congresswoman Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. represents North Carolina’s 12th Congressional District (Charlotte, Mecklenburg Country) and serves as Vice Chair of the House Committee on Agriculture, the committee of jurisdiction for the Morrill Acts. Additionally, she serves on the House Financial Services Committee and the House Education & Labor Committee, where she serves as Chair of the Workforce Protections Subcommittee. In 2015, Rep. Adams co-founded the first Bipartisan HBCU Caucus in Congress. She is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University, one of the 1890s institutions.