Deltas Celebrate 110th Anniversary

By: Alabama A&M University

Spirited members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., gathered at Alabama A&M University’s J.F. Drake Memorial Learning Resources Center and other local venues to honor their founders and to observe the 110th anniversary of the prestigious organization, which was founded on January 13, 1913.

The Huntsville Alumnae, Delta Delta and Omicron Gamma Chapters held the Founders Day ceremony Saturday, January 14, at Progressive Union Missionary Baptist Church in Huntsville, Ala.  The Huntsville Alumnae Chapter was established to service Huntsville, Ala., Normal, Ala., and surrounding areas.   Named “Epsilon Delta Sigma” at its inception, the new chapter was the 57th chapter in the Southern Region, and Huntsville was selected as the seat of the chapter. 

The inception ceremony was conducted in 1954 on the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College campus by Miss Lucia James, Southern Regional Director from Florida A&M University.  Guests presented at this service included members of Delta Delta Chapter (undergraduate chapter of the college, chartered in 1949), and Miss Mildred Goggins, a representative from Beta Eta Chapter, Alabama State College in Montgomery, Ala.

Today, more than 400 members are committed to Scholarship, Sisterhood and Service and have solidified the organization’s strong and vital presence in the North Alabama vicinity for nearly 70 years.  Organizational impact has been made through numerous service initiatives, including scholarship support, an annual honors convocation, a children’s reading program, a Meals on Wheels campaign, and other collaborations.  

Ovetta Hobson serves as president of the Huntsville Alumnae Chapter; Forever Reed, Delta Delta Chapter (AAMU); and Chelsie Burnett, Omicron Gamma (UAH).

– J. Saintjones