MEAC Announces 2024 Bowling Postseason Honors, Presented by Wells Fargo

RALEIGH, N.C. – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced the 2024 MEAC Women’s Bowling All-Conference honors and major awards Thursday night in advance of the start of the 2024 MEAC Women’s Bowling Championship. Headlining the honors was Monmouth’s Morgan Davis who was named Rookie of the Year while North Carolina A&T’s Lauren Tomaszewski and Head Coach Kim Terrell-Kearney garnered Player and Coach of the Year, respectively. 

All awards were voted on by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Davis became the first Rookie of the Year honoree for Monmouth since joining the MEAC. She owns the sixth best scoring average in traditional format averaging 20.46 points per frame while also sitting fifth in frame fill percentage in the traditional format at 87.4 % fill percentage. She sits tied for sixth in strike percentage in traditional games averaging a strike 50.0 percent of the time. Additionally, Davis knocks down nine pins or more on her first ball 76.5 percent of the time in traditional games. 

Tomaszewski claimed the MEAC Player of the Year honor after leading the league in individual scoring average across both traditional (21.40) and baker (21.91) formats for an overall average of 21.71 points per frame. She has bowled two perfect games this season at the Tulane Classic (Oct. 13-15) and the Northeast Classic (Jan. 19-21). This is Tomaszewski’s first Player of the Year award after being named the MEAC Preseason Bowler of the Year at the start of the 2023-24 season. She has garnered five MEAC Player of the Week honors this season while accumulating a 56.2 strike percentage, an 80.8 percent first ball percentage and a 76.1 percent spare conversion percentage, all of which led the league. Tomaszewski also collected her third consecutive MEAC First-Team All-Conference accolade.  

Terrell-Kearney collected her fourth consecutive Coach of the Year honor, and fifth overall, after leading her team to its second perfect season, 16-0, in a row to clinch the regular season champion title. The Aggies accumulated an overall record of 89-30 with premier wins over top-ranked opponents, including Arkansas State, Vanderbilt, Sam Houston State, Louisiana Tech, Nebraska and more. Coach Terrell-Kearney’s team enters the MEAC Bowling Championship as the No. 1 seed and will face No. 8 Howard in the first match of the weekend. 

Joining Tomaszewski on the MEAC First-Team All-Conference are fellow Aggies Katie Robb, Chloe Newberry and Maya Avilez, as well as Maryland Eastern Shore’s Brooke Roberts.  

MEAC Bowling Championship action begins Friday, March 22, at 9 AM at the Buffaloe Lanes North in Raleigh, N.C. 

2024 MEAC Bowling All-Conference Awards 

Coach of the Year: Kim Kearney, North Carolina A&T 

Player of the Year: Lauren Tomaszewski, North Carolina A&T 

Rookie of the Year: Morgan Davis, Monmouth 

First Team 

Lauren Tomaszewski, North Carolina A&T 

Maya Avilez, North Carolina A&T 

Chloe Newberry, North Carolina A&T 

Brooke Roberts, Maryland Eastern Shore 

Katie Robb, North Carolina A&T 

Second Team 

Sydney Reardon, Delaware State 

Mariana Santos Rivero, Maryland Eastern Shore 

Johnna Hill, Morgan State 

Emily Breidegam, Delaware State 

Morgan Davis, Monmouth 

Third Team 

Alyssa Breidegam, Delaware State 

Diana Ochoa, Maryland Eastern Shore 

Madison Colston, UAB 

Cheyenne Washington, Morgan State 

Jenna Lehrer, Monmouth