President David Wilson Receives Maryland Senate’s 2018 First Citizen Award

During a special ceremony held on the floor of The Senate Chamber, President of the Maryland Senate Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. honored Morgan State University President David Wilson with the 2018 First Citizen Award, in recognition of his distinguished service to the people of Maryland and his ongoing contributions to the advancement of higher education. Dr. Wilson was one of three recipients of the award, including University of Maryland, College Park President Wallace Loh and Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera, on March 14.

“It is truly an honor to be included among the distinguished Marylanders to have received this great recognition,” Dr. Wilson said. “I accept this award on behalf of the many hands that have participated in the fulfillment of a shared vision for the success of our university and our students. It is their dedication that has made this honor possible.”

The First Citizen Award is given annually by the president of the Maryland Senate to Marylanders who have been dedicated and effective participants in the process of making government work for the benefit of all. The award is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, who wrote a series of influential letters published in 1773 in the Maryland Gazette under the name “First Citizen.” At the time, Carroll, as a Roman Catholic, was barred from public office, but his First Citizen letters launched a long career of public service. He was a signer of the Declaration of Independence, helped shape Maryland’s first Constitution and served in the State Senate, Continental Congress and U.S. Senate. The First Citizen Award features a commemorative medal and is regarded as the highest honor bestowed on a Maryland citizen by the Maryland Senate.

Previous First Citizen Award recipients include Maryland State Del. Howard “Pete” Rawlings; Maryland Gov. William Donald Schaefer; Maryland Attorney General J. Joseph Curran Jr.; Maryland Del. Richard N. Dixon; former Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake and former Morgan President Earl S. Richardson.

Congratulations to Dr. David Wilson for receiving this award and for his continued leadership of our university.