WASHINGTON, DC (June 14, 2019) – The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) is proud to recognize the 20 students from 14 of TMCF’s member-schools, selected as the 2019 HBCU Competitiveness Scholars. Each academic year, the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), bestows their highest student recognition on undergraduate, graduate, and professional students from our nation’s 101 HBCUs.

“Being recognized by the White House as the best of the best from our nation’s HBCUs is a high honor because it shows the world how valuable, creative, intelligent and competitive our HBCU students are,” said Harry L. Williams, TMCF president & CEO. “It is wonderful to see so many Competitiveness Scholars coming from TMCF member-schools. I have no doubt they will represent us well as national ambassadors for HBCU excellence.”

The 2019 HBCU Competitiveness Scholars from TMCF member-schools are:

Fayetteville State University

·      Kiante Bennett

Fort Valley State University

·      Rodesha Elam

Grambling State University

·      Shayna Espy

Howard University

·      Diane Ijoma

Jackson State University

·      Jasmine King

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania

·      Elisabeth Bellevue

Mississippi Valley State University

·      Destiney Sharkey

Norfolk State University

·      Makhaela French

North Carolina Central University

·      Angela Adkins

·      Lyndon Bowen

Savannah State University

·      Aaliyah Buckholts

Southern University and A&M College

·      Nicholas Caldwell

·      Rachel Gentry

·      Christian King

·      Morgan Mallory

·      Trezell Raga

Tennessee State University

·      Anyah Gilmore-Jones

·      Mariah Rhodes

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

·      Kyra Rattler

Virginia State University

·      Destiny Hodges

After a rigorous nomination process, the scholars are selected based on their academic and extra-curricular activities. All 44 selected Competitiveness Scholars from the 34 HBCUs are invited to participate at the National HBCU Week Conference, where they will be recognized during a special awards luncheon September 9th.

Rodney Ellis, chancellor of TMCF member-school, Southern University at Shreveport, and member of the President’s Board of Advisors on HBCUs, said, “Academics, civic engagement, entrepreneurship, and leadership are achieved through action, not position. Congratulations to the students from the Southern University System and other HBCUs for taking the necessary actions and leveraging their positions as students to achieve impact.”

Subscribe to the HBCU Advocate

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Sign up for full access to The HBCU Advocate and to receive HBCU content directly to your email!