Browse By

TSU Professor Elected to Fulbright Association Board of Directors

TSU Professor Dr. Kamala Raghavan, Fulbright Association
Board of Directors member

HOUSTON, TX –December 14, 2020 – Dr. Kamala Raghavan, professor and
interim department chairman for Finance and Accounting, has been elected
to the Fulbright Association Board of Directors under the leadership of
Executive Director Dr. John Bader. The mission of the Fulbright
Association is to advocate for the Fulbright program and promote
international education. Fulbright alumni are leaders in every field
representing over 165 countries, and are committed to advancing mutual
understanding, tolerance, and peaceful relations worldwide.

“We are very proud to have Dr. Raghavan serve on the Board of Directors
for the Fulbright Association; she is among top educators and difference
makers in the world and we look forward to her sharing all of the
knowledge she will gain back to our School and students,” said Dr. David
Yen, dean of the Jesse H. Jones School of Business.

The vision for the association is a world where international exchange is
widely recognized as a force for peace. They are global change-makers in
politics, business, science, education, and the arts. Their ranks include
82 Pulitzer Prize winners, 59 Nobel Prize laureates, 37 current or former
heads of state or government, 70 MacArthur Foundation Fellows, and 16
Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients.  The alumni come from thousands
of public and private universities in the United States and abroad.

“I’m delighted and honored to serve as a board member of this prestigious
international organization to promote education,” said Raghavan. “I am so
grateful to be of service to this community of scholars.”

Raghavan will begin her three-year term January 1, 2021, with a portfolio
of responsibilities to include finance related activities. She will be
announced and recognized as a newly elected board member at the Annual
Business Meeting for the general membership on Tuesday, December 15th,