FSU Bowling Earns Automatic Bid to NCAA Regionals

Fayetteville, NC — Fayetteville State University has been selected as one of the eighteen teams to participate in the 2024 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship, according to the NCAA Women’s Bowling Committee. The regional round matches will take place on April 4-6 and will be hosted at predetermined sites. The Broncos will compete against William Smith, the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) Champion, in the Rochester, NY in a play-in match on Thursday, April 4.

Fayetteville State won the CIAA Championships by defeating Virginia Union 4-1, securing its automatic qualification. The Broncos have a 60-13 overall record and a 41-3 conference standing.

William Smith secured their first AMCC Championship and NCAA bid in its second varsity season. The Herons won the title via forfeit when Alvernia fell short of the minimum five bowlers after one student-athlete became ill overnight. William Smith has a 49-21 record this season after going 4-28 last year.

The regional matches are double elimination except for the play-in match at the five-team regional, which will be single elimination. Each round will consist of teams competing in a best-of-three match format, bowled in the following order: five-person team match; Baker total pinfall; and best-of-seven Baker match play. Regional competition will conclude with one team from each regional bracket advancing to compete in the championship. The championship matches will be played on April 12-13 at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Michigan. The University of Detroit and the Detroit Sports Commission are the hosts.

The following conferences and their representatives received an automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Fayetteville State University
College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Marian University (Wisconsin)
Conference Carolinas Belmont Abbey College
Conference USA Jacksonville State University
East Coast Conference Mercyhurst University
Great Lakes Valley Conference Maryville University of Saint Louis
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Northeast Conference Merrimack College
Southwestern Athletic Conference Alabama State University

The remaining eight teams that were selected at-large (listed alphabetically) include: Arkansas State University, Duquesne University, Louisiana Tech University, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, North Carolina A&T State University, Sam Houston State University, Vanderbilt University and Youngstown State University.

https://www.fapjunk.com https://pornohit.net